06 Jun 2024

Nominees announced for the TBA Flat Breeders' Awards Evening 2024

The shortlisted nominees have been announced for five of the 13 award categories at this year’s TBA Flat Breeders’ Awards Evening which takes place on Wednesday, 10 July at Chippenham Park, near Newmarket.   

Hosted by Gina Bryce, the Dullingham Park-sponsored event will see breeders, owners, trainers and stud employees gather to celebrate British-bred successes from the 2023 Flat racing season.  

Kate Sigsworth, Deputy Chair of the TBA and Chair of the TBA Flat Racing Committee commented: “The annual TBA Flat Breeders' Awards Evening is always a well-attended event to celebrate the best of British from the previous Flat season as well as recognising those individuals who make or have made a significant contribution to the British breeding industry.

“Over the last few years, we have seen more and more studs bringing along their teams for the occasion which is really positive. It's a fantastic start to Newmarket’s July Festival and our thanks go to Dullingham Park and all the other sponsors for their generous support of these awards.”

Announced earlier this year, the winners of the Flat statistical awards are presented on the night along with the TBA Stud Employee Award. Generously sponsored by Peter Stanley’s New England Stud, the winning individual takes home £2,000 and a beautiful Charlie Langton bronze with the shortlist of nominees due to be announced in due course.   

Finally, the evening also plays host to the two prestigious awards including, the Andrew Devonshire and Dominion bronzes, with the winner of each selected by the TBA Trustees from a shortlist of nominees by closed vote and announced on the night.

The TBA would like to thank Dullingham Park, Newsells Park Stud, Chasemore Farm, New England Stud, Tattersalls, British EBF and Barton Stud for their generous support of this event.  

Tickets are priced at £80 (inc VAT) per person and are available for purchase via the events section on the TBA website. Event admission includes; a champagne  reception, a two-course dinner and the awards ceremony.   

The awards and nominees:   

SILVER ROSE BOWL – TBA Flat Breeder of the Year  

  • Cheveley Park Stud  
  • Juddmonte Farms Ltd  
  • Kirsten Rausing 
  • Newsells Park Stud & Merry Fox Stud
  • Whitsbury Manor Stud  

TBA SILVER SALVER – Special Merit Award (Flat)  

  • Blue Diamond Stud  
  • Branton Court Stud
  • Fittocks Stud & Arrow Farm
  • Hascombe & Valiant Stud Ltd
  • Lordship Stud

LANGHAM CUP – Small Breeder of the Year  

  • Brian Haggas
  • David & Yvonne Blunt
  • Deborah O’Brien
  • Lemington Grange Stud  
  • Martin Hughes & Michael Kerr Dineen
  • Maywood Stud


  • ANISETTE  - Morera Parternship 
  • PERDIKA – Bumble Mitchell & Sally Nicholls 
  • SPARKS FLY– Lowe Family

H. J. JOEL SILVER SALVER – Broodmare of the Year (Flat)
Kindly sponsored by Barton Stud  

  • AGNES STEWART – Branton Court Stud 
  • MOSA MINE – Maywood Stud 
  • REEM THREE- Sheikh Mohammed Obaid Al Maktoum
  • SUELITA - Whitsbury Manor Stud  

Other awards to be presented during the evening include:   

Stud Employee Award, kindly sponsored by New England Stud 
Nominees to be announced 

BBA Silver Cigar Box 
Leading British-based Stallion (Flat earnings)  
Winner previously announced: FRANKEL 

Barleythorpe Stud Silver Cup 
Leading British-based Stallion (Individual Flat winners)  
Winner previously announced: KINGMAN 

The Queen’s Silver Cup 
Leading British-based Flat Breeder (Flat earnings)  
Winner previously announced: SHADWELL 

Tattersalls Silver Salver, kindly sponsored by Tattersalls  
Leading British-based First Season Sire (Flat earnings)  
Winner previously announced: TOO DARN HOT

British EBF Stallion Special Merit Award  
Winner previously announced: HAVANA GREY 

Dominion Bronze 
To be announced at the Flat Breeders’ Awards Evening  

Andrew Devonshire Bronze 
To be announced at the Flat Breeders’ Awards Evening