Philip Newton

Philip Newton became Chairman of the Thoroughbred Breeders Association in October 2023 having first joined the board as a trustee in 2016. Philip's commercial career was as a PLC CEO in the Retail sector as well as holding a number of other non-executive roles. He has been an owner breeder for over 40 years with Group and Royal Ascot successes and some NH success as well. He currently owns three broodmares and races all his produce. ​

Kate Sigsworth

Kate Sigsworth was appointed Deputy Chair of the Thoroughbred Breeders Association in October 2023, having first joined the board in 2020. Kate is the manager of West Moor Stud in North Yorkshire which was established by her parents in 1980. A family run stud, they sell various foals, yearlings and mares and retain some of their own, with three flat horses and one point to point horse currently in training. Kate is particularly interested in maintaining high standards of care for the horses and staff in the industry, as well as increasing profitability for breeders of all size and code.

Claire Sheppard

Claire joined the TBA as Chief Executive in 2017 after previously working for the Racecourse Association and for Plumpton Racecourse. Her role as Chief Executive of the TBA covers a wide range of responsibilities including the running of the management of the TBA charity, it's finances and staff. Representing the TBA in political negotiations; providing support and briefings to the Chairman, Deputy Chairman, Board members and Veterinary advisor. Claire is the TBA representative of the Thoroughbred Group, British Horse Council, International Thoroughbred Breeders’ Federation (ITBF), and EFTBA.

Julian Richmond Watson

Honorary President

Click below to meet the TBA Trustees, Executive team and the TBA Representatives in your area.



TBA team



TBA Representatives