Nominations open for 2018 Godolphin Stud & Stable Staff Awards

August 24, 2017 |

Nominations are open for the 2018 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards, the awards, now in their 14th year, recognise and reward the outstanding skills, commitment and contribution of racing’s 6,000 stud and stable staff.

There is more than £120,000 in prize money offered by Godolphin and the winners and runners-up will be revealed during an evening awards ceremony held on Monday, 19 February 2017, Further information on the six different award categories and how to nominate is shown below:

David Nicholson Newcomer Award
For those who have displayed a desire to improve, have progressed their skills and knowledge and become an integral part of the team while employed in the industry for less than three years as of 19 February 2018.
Eligibility – All stud and stable staff employees who have been employed less than three years within the industry.

Leadership Award
For those managing two or more staff who have displayed leadership qualities amongst their colleagues, a desire to succeed in the industry and strong mentoring skills that have been to the benefit of those around them.
Eligibility – All stud and stable staff employees carrying out a leadership/supervisory role.

Stud Staff Award
This Award is for those who have shown expertise, dedication and reliability, excellent horsemanship, adaptability and teamwork, while employed within a stud.
Eligibility – All stud staff employees.

Rider/Groom Award
For those who have shown talent for horsemanship, consistency and reliability in and out of the saddle and/or have achieved something outstanding in 2017 season either in an equine or personal capacity.
Eligibility – All stable staff employees.

Dedication to Racing Award
For a member of staff who has served a minimum of 15 years in the industry, is an integral part of the team, offers a wealth of industry experience and knowledge and a love and dedication of their job.
Eligibility – all stud and stable staff employees who have worked in the industry for more than 15 years.

Rory Macdonald Community Award
This award, in conjunction with Racing Welfare, is to recognise those who have shown outstanding contribution to the racing industry. This could include those who support the stud and stable staff or have made an outstanding contribution to benefit the wider racing community. Nominees for this award do not need to be employed by the racing industry but are those unsung community heroes who contribute to the greater good of the sport.
Eligibility – any individual connected directly or indirectly with racing demonstrating the above qualities/examples (e.g. support staff, employees of equine and welfare charities, training providers or other).

The nomination process is very simple and is available to online via the Racing Administration website, and

Nominations will close on Tuesday 21 November 2017.